How to lace a Wedding Dress Corset : Last 2016 post & Happy Holidays!

img_0686

You know the kids are grown up when you can hang all your glass & ceramic Christmas ornaments up on the tree.  #bittersweet 😉

Happy Holidays!

I just got back from my Doctor’s visit for my yearly women’s wellness exam.  Everyone, make sure you get a yearly exam.  I always enjoy my visit.  I know that sounds weird but my doc happens to be a good friend of mine from college so it’s a time where we quickly catch up and I know I am in good care.  If you want an awesome Dr in the North Houston area, visit Cypress Family Practice.  I drive 45 minutes just to see Dr. Hoang — I love her!  I highly recommend both doctors;)

Well, the year is coming to an end and this will be my last post for 2016.  I will be back on January 3, 2017 when the children return to school so Happy Holidays!  May your winter season be merry and joyous.  I hope you had a wonderful 2016.  Let me know below what you learned about yourself this year.  Here’s what I learned about myself…I learned that I had the ability and the strength to drive a motorcycle;)  That experience showed me that I can do anything I set my mind to.

Before I end the post, I would like to share with you my last tutorial for the year.  There are several in progress so be looking out for new tutorials in 2017.  The latest tutorial is “How to lace a Wedding Dress Corset.”   My God daughter Mary is getting married soon so I wanted to create a tutorial that would make life easier for her Bridesmaid.  Enjoy!

I also did a little research about the history of the corset if you are interested.

screen-shot-2016-12-16-at-11-48-06-am

Above is an 1896 Wedding corset at the Chicago History Museum. This belongs to the bride Florence Sanger Pullman of her marriage to Frank Orren Lowden (25th governor of Illinois) on April 29, 1896. I am in awe of the details on this wedding corset and how well it has been preserved.

http://digitalcollection.chicagohistory.org/cdm/compoundobject/collection/p16029coll3/id/684/rec/1

screen-shot-2016-12-16-at-11-48-25-am

photo via Pinterest

The corset first became popular in sixteenth century Europe during the Victorian era. It is believed that the earliest image of a corset was made ca. 2000 BC by a Cretan woman. The purpose of the corset changed over the years. It was used to train and cinch the waist, flatten the bust (which pushes it up), support the back, and/or help improve posture. I was most surprised to learn that aristocratic men, the Dandy, wore it in the 1700’s and early 1800’s for high fashion.  The men wore it to create the broad shoulder look. {photos via Pinterest}

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_corsets

Thank you for reading.  Merry Christmas & Happy New year!

 

Love,

Ann

youtube  youtiquebridal pinterest pin

Leave a Reply

