DIY Guest Tina Scarlatella :First Communion Veil & Dress

Ella and Erin

Ella and her best friend Erin

Greetings!  Hope everyone is doing well.

As the season of First Communion celebrations come to an end, I just want to thank my DIY Guest, Tina Scarlatella, for sharing her First Communion designs with me.  I get so excited when someone understands the concept as to why I create my video tutorials.  When Tina mentioned she didn’t create the exact same veil as the one in my tutorial but was inspired by it, I was super excited.  Yes, That is the point!  I just want people to get inspired and start creating, not necessarily make a duplicate of what I created.  I had to invite her to share her work and I hope it will inspire you.

ella1

Ella

Q) What inspired you to create your daughter’s mantilla veil and dress?  TINA: Joy, Love, and Hope.  I receive so much JOY from seeing my children’s face when they wear things I make for them.  They are still at the age where they get excited and they don’t mind being measured, poked, and pinned.  Even my son!  I also love how they show off my creations to anyone who would look and listen to them.

I want them to FEEL my LOVE for them.  Ella has thanked me for taking time to make her veil and dress.  She has seen me work long hours and even heard me poke my fingers a couple of times.  I truly hope my kids will understand how much love I have for them while making these one of a kind outfits for them.  I put so much of myself into these creations (literally sweat and blood sometimes).  I try to make sure each child feels special and loved.  

I PRAYERFULLY HOPE that my children will cherish all of these memories that we spend together.  I hope they will see this as one example of how a mother shows love to her children.  ( I remember wearing clothes that my mom made me and how I know I was loved).

Q) How far in advance did you start to ensure you will be complete by your daughter’s First Communion Date?  When is her First Communion Date? TINA:  I started working on the veil and dress on April 18th about 1 month before the First Communion Date of May 15th.  I am a procrastinator or should I say “creatively inspired when deadlines are near”.   I am happy to say that I am finished with both veil and dress ahead of schedule!  

I was pretty surprised that I finished the veil in 1 night (about 3 hours) even with me hand sewing 52 bead to the veil it didn’t take as long as I thought it would.  Dress took about 2 weekends to work on.  

Q)  What were the pros and cons of creating the veil yourself?  TINA:  I always knew that I wanted to make Ella’s veil and dress and was so happy to see that you had made a tutorial.  Like you had read my mind!  I followed your tutorial 95% – I could not pin the lace around the circle so I ended up making the trim a circle first and then pin it on to a square piece of tulle.  I cut the tulle into the shape of the circle afterwards.  I wish I had chosen a softer lace – but I loved the lace trim that I found for the veil.  It doesn’t lay as well but I still think it’s perfect.

erin dress

Tina also upstyled Erin’s First Communion Gown

2 thoughts on “DIY Guest Tina Scarlatella :First Communion Veil & Dress

  1. aww… I love the pictures you used. Thank you for your tutorial and inspiration. I couldn’t have done it without you.

Leave a Reply

