“In The Zone” : The Classic White Shirt

white shirt photo

           The Classic White Shirt sewn by Ann Ngo

Have you ever tried to edit one week’s worth of filming down to one minute?  If you have, let me in on your secret because “In The Zone” was one of my most challenging projects of filming and editing.  Let’s just say….lots of scenes were left out.  But all in all, I am proud of the hard work put into it and I hope you get the idea behind what I am trying to share.

Before I go into the explanation of “In The Zone”, I would like to thank Andrea @sewtofit and Rosalind @sewmuchfabric for the opportunity to be part of their collaboration project, the Wardrobe Fit-Along Series.  I was invited to be the “petite” body type for sewing The Classic White shirt.  Since I was the petite mannequin, I got to witness Andrea fit and alter the tissue pattern as well as fit the final fashion fabric on me.  It was a lot of fun!  She did everything for me except sew the actual white shirt —- that was my responsibility.  Btw, it would have been nice if she did that too;)  So my short video “In the Zone” starts with where she left off.  Basically, the fabric was held together on my body by pins at the beginning of my video.

Just a kind note, this video is not a tutorial.  You will see only the process of sewing my classic white shirt.  I just wanted to share the thoughts and emotions I go through when working on a creative project.  Just curious, have you ever done something you love and find yourself lost in thought, time, and space?  I do this all the time when I am doing something I am passionate about.  My husband and children have to somehow snap me back to reality — sad, I know.  In the video, I hope you catch the rising and setting of the sun through my window.  I literally sewed till the late hours of the night and would wake up the next day before the sun rose to work on my white shirt.  Even if I was tired, I had this hidden zeal to complete the project.  Have you ever felt that way?  Share with me below what gets you lost in thought, time, and space.

Well, when I decided to be a stay-at-home mom, I didn’t realize the challenges that laid ahead.  One of the first things I learned is that I needed to get things done efficiently.  So guess how I got efficient with styling my hair?  I would quickly roll it up into a bun or tie a quick pony tail.  And somehow throughout the day, it would eventually become lopsided.  Well, it’s time to let down my hair!  lol!  I wanted to give you a glimpse of the change I am going through, from the rolled up lopsided bun to letting it all down.  I’m actually tempted to cut it all off, but I’ll save that for another day;)

So here it is, my one minute video of being “In The Zone” and a glimpse of the change I am going through as well as the sewing of my white shirt.  It is finally time and this is my way of announcing that I am back at work full time.  If you are curious, follow me on my adventures!

Love,

Ann

6 thoughts on ““In The Zone” : The Classic White Shirt

  1. Thank you so much Ann for being a part of the wardrobe fit-along. Your blouse is beautiful. What a fun video!!! And yes, I do understand “The Zone”!! 🙂

    • Thank you Andrea! It was a lot of fun. We both learned a lot from each other. Glad to hear you learned more about yourself, maybe one day you can share with me;)

    • lol! You are right Marcy. It does take a village for a nice white blouse and Roz & Andrea are amazing;) Thanks for visiting the blog!

Leave a Reply

