Guest DIY Bride : Krystal Longnecker from Pomona, New Jersey

Greetings!

My best friend Cathy was right when she stated that last month was “May Madness.”  There were so many events to attend and plenty of reasons to celebrate.  Congratulations to all those who got married, graduated and received their First Communions;)

Bride Krystal and Groom Nicholas : Photo credit Julie Dessario Photography

Bride Krystal and Groom Nicholas : Photo credit Julie Dassaro Photography

I have a guest DIY Bride today, Krystal Longnecker from Pomona, New Jersey, who got married on April 25, 2015.  She is a resourceful DIY Bride who created many of her own wedding decor & accessories.  After watching my tutorial on “How to make the Wedding Veil with Lace Trim” tutorial, she was even inspired to create her own lace wedding veil.  She put in the order for the DIY Lace Trim and created a special heirloom for her daughters.  She sent a beautiful message to me that I just had to share:

“I had so many people say how lovely my veil was but when they heard I made it myself after seeing your youtube video (you made it look so easy) they were in shock!  I can not thank you enough for giving me the wisdom, confidence, and affordable pricing for the material to make an heirloom for my girls to use on their special day, and pass on to their little ladies on theirs! You truly are a blessing”

Krystal, thank you for your kind words and may your beautiful veil made with love be passed on through many generations!

longnecker2

Photo courtesy of Krystal Longnecker

I asked Krystal a few questions to find out about her DIY journey and got the opportunity to hear about her unconditional and unconventional love story.  Feel free to read…

Q) What inspired you to create your own lace wedding veil?  KRYSTAL: Since I have 2 daughters of my own and am raising my 2 neices I wanted something I could pass on to them.  Also, I couldn’t come to terms with spending $250 on a Mantilla veil that had no love, passion and finger pricking pain in it! 🙂

Q) How far in advance did you start to insure that you will be complete the veil by your wedding date? KRYSTAL: I started the day I got my veil kit February 11, 2015.  I finished the day before my wedding April 24th, 2015.  The only reason my veil took as long to finish is because I put it aside for about a month as I made my wedding album, centerpieces, and programs.

Q) What is your wedding theme/colors? KRYSTAL: Our wedding theme was Rustic and our colors were Mint and Burlap. We really used lots of colors, the pastel color wheel was our inspiration.

longnecker3

Bride Krystal and Groom Nicholas : Photo credit Julie Dassaro Photography

Q) How did you meet your husband?  KRYSTAL: It’s a funny story actually. I met him in high school when he picked me up to go out on a date with his best friend. A week or so later he picked me up from high school again so I could go out again with his best friend and that’s when he touched my hand and said “You really deserve better than him. I really wish you would go out with me sometime.” My immediate response was “Do you see this?”, as I pointed my finger over me, “You have no chance of ever dating me!” Well I found out a week later my boyfriend was cheating on me.  Fast forward 2 years later… I am living at a friends and just found out 2 weeks before I am 19 weeks 6 days pregnant with my ex’s baby. I was on MySpace and up pops a message from Nicholas asking my AIM Username so we could catch up. We talked for a couple days and he asked me out to eat. I responded with, “Listen I am 5 1/2 months pregnant.” He responded, “And? What you don’t like to eat?” All I could think is no boy would date someone because she is pregnant with someone else’s baby…but a man would. We went out for the first time on Easter night 2006 and officially became a couple April 21, 2006. I guess the Lord had different plans than I did in high school and a great sense of humor.

Wow! The groom was very persistent in courting his Bride.  He did not let anything stop him from chasing the woman of his dreams.  Despite all the challenges, there were 2 beautiful blessings (Krystal’s daughters) and a husband who would do anything for his Bride.  I wish you the very best on your journey of marriage.

Below is the lace veil tutorial that inspired Krystal…

If you would like to see more photos from Krystal’s Wedding, you can click {here}.

Thank you for visiting!

Ann

youtiquebridal pinterest pin youtube

Leave a Reply

