DIY Baptismal Headband Tutorial : High School Design Competition

Greetings Everyone!  I hope you are enjoying this beautiful Spring season as much as I am.  It is raining a little today but as the saying goes “April Showers bring May Flowers.”  I love flowers so I don’t mind the rain.  Well, I have been working on a few fun projects so if you’re interested, see below.

Halena

Precious Baby Halena

So how was your Easter Celebration?  I got to meet my beautiful niece Halena for the first time on Easter.  She just moved here from Canada and a few days after her move, we celebrated her Baptismal Vows.  I am very honored to be her Godmother.  As part of her gift, I created a special custom Baptismal Headband.  While designing it, I can also see this design on a Flower Girl Headband as well.  Here is how I created it:

Ordinaries: *Floral Ribbon, embellishments (rhinestones/cross), feathers, scissors, glue gun/glue sticks

Steps 1-4

(1) cut 3 flowers from the ribbon (2) trim off excess fabric (3) create 2 smaller flowers by cutting it down to resize (4) glue on flowers to the headband

phase2

(5) pull off excess feathers and cut the stem, glue onto headband behind flowers (6) cut off the rhinestone stem (7) glue embellishments onto flower

And there you have it, a beautiful Baptismal Headband.  I do plan on creating a video tutorial for this.  However, it will be produced/film and edited sometime after my Midnight Blue Couture Dress is complete:) Stay tuned!

********************************************************************************

Do you remember the Midnight Blue Couture Dress Project?  I know it’s been over two years but I had asked you to help me pick a color for the dress.  The majority of you graciously chose Midnight Blue – love the color!

IMG_6982

Well, I have revisited the project recently and my goal is to have it completed by the High School Fashion Show next week.  I was asked to judge the design competition presented by Sew Much Fabric and thought it would be the perfect time to complete and wear one of my own designs:)  Well, I am super excited and looking forward to seeing the creativity and skills the Elsik High School Design Students are coming up with.   It is always a lot of fun for me when it entails Fashion, Youth, and Community:)  If you are free Friday April 17th, join us!

fashion show flyer

If you would like to see the progress of my couture dress, follow me on Instagram.

Stay dry and have a wonderful day!!!

Ann

youtiquebridal pinterest pin youtube

Leave a Reply

