Hair Adornment Supplies : $50.00 Wedding Gown Challenge Intro

Good Morning!

It is that time of year again…Halloween is around the corner and it is an opportunity for the children to knock on doors and  collect sweet goodies.  My children LOVE the candy!  Me – not so much the candy part but I have to admit, my sister and I enjoy brainstorming costume themes for our children.   Since we now have 6 little kiddos in the family (3 are mine, 2 of my sister’s, and 1 baby girl from my Brother), we dread the thought of spending $25 – $40 for each child on a costume that will be worn once.   So during this time of year, we scour our closets, hit the dollar stores, discount stores, and thrift shops in the area to gather the materials and supplies.

tshirts

some of the items for the children’s costumes…can you guess what they will be this Halloween? Click {here} to view the costumes:)

During my adventure for costume supply shopping, I thought I would work on the “$50.00 Simple Wedding Gown Challenge.”  While at our local thrift shop, there was an additional 50% off sale going on and that would make the  wedding gowns about $50.00 each.  For a brief moment, I thought I can just buy that and share it with you.  But you know what?  I would be slacking and taking the easy way out — not cool!  Instead, be prepared to either think I am crazy or just plain creative…I’m okay either way:)

So first, I had to come up with a plan –  a theme and a budget.  I was thinking a simple “Greek Goddess” inspired Wedding ensemble — playing with the colors gold and white.  Below you will find the tentative budget breakdown:

$10.00 Hair Adornment/Jewelry

$15.00 Shoes

$25.00 Dress (not including undergarments:)

The budget breakdown may change but the goal is to stay at or under $50.00 (before taxes) and assuming people have the basic supplies – scissor, sewing machine, thread/needle, glue gun/glue sticks, iron, and a measuring tape.  I will create video tutorials for some of the projects depending on how much time is required.  But for the most part, I will be blogging the process.  My true goal is to inspire you to get creative.  And if you are a Bride on a Budget, your time, creativity, and imagination is your most powerful tool:)

Well, The first project I will be working on is the Hair Adornment.  Here is the sneak peek to the ordinaries…

hair adornment ordinaries

Price – Item (Shop)

$1.09 – Large Roses (Giant $)

$1.09 – Medium Sized Roses  (Giant $)

$1.09 – Headband (Giant $)

$1.20 – Gold Glitter Tulle 1/3yard (Joann Fabrics w/50% off coupon)

Total $4.47

The hair adornment project was inspired by the Pronovias 2014 Fashion Show below….

Thank you for visiting and stay tuned!

youtube  youtiquebridal pinterest pin

3 thoughts on “Hair Adornment Supplies : $50.00 Wedding Gown Challenge Intro

Leave a Reply

