2013 Couture Project : Creating the Skirt Ruffle

ruffle hem skirt

Greetings!  Hope everyone had a wonderful Labor Day Weekend:)

So much happened in just a few weeks…my precious niece was born…Big J and Little J started school…sewed a quick dress for myself…started filming the October project…and Labor Day weekend with family.  Also, I did get to speak with Eileen J (a fellow sewing couture enthusiast) while she was working in New Orleans.  She updated me about the Couture Class and we tried to set up a date for my Couture Dress fitting…and guess what?  Eileen and I are still trying to schedule a date for my fitting.  Gosh life can get so busy!  I am thinking about sneaking out after the hubby is home and the kids are asleep for a fitting.  We’ll see… 🙂

Somewhere in between all these exciting events, I did get to make the ruffle for my Couture Project.  Here is how it was created.

mark and draw new hem to attach ruffle

skirt width

new hem width=18″, using my children’s drawing paper, I made a pattern half the width of the skirt (9″) and the ruffle height I want is 4″

measured rectangle

draw a line every half inch

1half inch

cut carefully up to the edge without cutting through, spread out and tape onto paper, draw in the new pattern, and remove the original pattern

new pattern

cut, new ruffle pattern

ruffle muslin

lay on the fold, transfer to muslin fabric, repeat for back ruffle

1ruffle dress

sew ruffle hem onto the muslin dress

Thank you for visiting!

If you missed any part of the 2013 Couture journey, please click on one of the links below for a quick update:

1) Sketch & Color Voting

2) Color Announcement

3) Lace Reveal & Cutting the Muslin

4) Sewing the Muslin

If you would like to improve your sewing skills, I encourage you to take Susan Khalje’s Couture Sewing School.  You can visit her class schedule by clicking (here).  If your schedule does not fit hers, there is an online course “The Couture Dress” through Craftsy you can also take and it is flexible to your schedule.

laser cut and fringe

While waiting to get my couture muslin dress fitted with Eileen J, I’ll share the quick dress project I made on the next blog.  As for now, here is a sneak peek of the fabrics above:)

Online Sewing Class

Leave a Reply

