Custom Designed Gown with Tear-away Skirt : Fittings

I had custom designed a tear-away gown for Carly & Phil’s First Dance.  Knowing how fun and full of surprises this couple can be, the wedding guests probably suspected something was going to happen.  However, they definitely did not expect this to happen at 1:11.

I had so much fun creating this gown.  Not only did I get to know my gracious sister-in-law better but I got to do something I really enjoy. At the same time, it was a good challenge for me.  I was not to speak of the detachable train…not even to my husband.  I have to admit, the reaction we got from the guests made it all worth the hush hush:)

Here are a few photos from her fittings.

Fittings: Pinning until we got the right fit, deciding on the sash design & how the skirt would be removed

Due to the ruching and all the hand sewing required of this gown, we had six fittings.  We also had to make some last minute changes because of the choreography.  So we spent time planning how the skirt would be removed and decided to add a halter strap at the last minute.

Well, thank you for visiting and I hope you enjoyed the video:)

Custom Designed Gown: Ruched Gown with Mermaid Silhouette, sweetheart neckline, black satin sash, halter strap, and a gathered detachable skirt

ps. Thank you Joe “Seattle” for the video

One thought on “Custom Designed Gown with Tear-away Skirt : Fittings

Leave a Reply

