DIY Custom Cuff Link Tutorial

Greetings Everyone!  My Brother Phil and Carly’s wedding is this weekend so our families are quite busy preparing for the celebration.  I have a few DIY projects I have been documenting and would like to share them with you but I’ll start with the custom cuff links today.  I had fun creating these because there is a story behind each set (which makes it even more special).  The Groomsmen will be receiving them at the Rehearsal Dinner this Friday…I hope they love their cuff links:)

I think these are great not only for weddings gifts but for birthdays, anniversaries, or a just because..You can also use this easy technique to make jewelry as well.  Here is the tutorial.  Enjoy!

Materials:   cuff link photo, cuff link bezel, Modge Podge, 2 paint brush, jewelry resin mix, mixing stick, heat gun

1. Brush on 2 coats of modge podge to the front of the photo (waiting about 20 minutes between coats), brush on 1 coat to the back of the photo and allow it to dry

2. Brush modge podge onto the bezel and place the photo inside the bezel.  Add another coat of modge podge to the photo and allow to dry.

3. Prepare the jewelry resin materials.  Pour the resin in one cup & the hardener in another.  It should be a 1:1 ratio

4. Combine the resin and hardener into one cup

5. Using the mixing stick, stir for about 2 full minutes

6.  Pour mixture into the bezel

7. Pour it until you get a little tension but avoid an overflow

8. If there are air bubbles after 25 minutes, gently blow across the surface or use a heat gun (be careful not to overheat)

Now allow it to dry (I like to leave it overnight)

I have also used another technique to create one for my Father in the past.  It was a gift for my Parents’ anniversary.  You can view the video tutorial below.  For this process, I used a product called Modge Podge Dimensional Magic.  If you follow my blog long enough, you will learn that I like to experiment with different techniques:)

Well, thank you for visiting!  If you like to see other tutorials for the Gentlemen, feel free to click {here}.

5 thoughts on “DIY Custom Cuff Link Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Will You Be His Groomsman? « Wedding Ideas, Top Wedding Blog's, Wedding Trends 2014 – David Tutera's It’s a Bride’s Life

  2. Did you prefer the Modge Podge Dimensional Magic or the jewelry resin materials?! Looking to do this for my wedding in August! 🙂

    • Greetings Karly! I actually preferred the jewelry resin material. The photo was more clear after the resin dried. Well, congratulations on your August wedding!

  3. Hi there! I would like to do this profect…what is that you are using to stabilize your cufflinks to dry?
    thank you so much

    • Greetings! I got creative with this one:) I actually used an air freshener I purchased at the $1.00 store for the resin tutorial. They have the holes on top where I placed the cuffs into. For the dimensional magic video tutorial, I used an old stationary box and punctured holes into it large enough for the cuff links. Hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions. Ann

Leave a Reply

