Youtique Bridal & Formal

create something EXTRAordinary

{EVAN} How to make custom Cuff Links for the Gentlemen

Custom Cuff Links

I am creating 6 custom cuff links for 5 groomsmen and a groom all with very different personalities.  Yes, they are gifts for my Brother and his special friends.  I just completed the first one for sweet Randy S.  He grew up watching Captain Planet and wanted a super hero logo.  So here you go Randy.  I used yours to create the tutorial :P

You can also get someone to sketch something that represents you as well.  This is what Sal is doing.  Sal’s niece is designing his image.  I thought that was very clever and quite sentimental.

The cuff links would make great gifts for the Wedding Party, Father’s Day present, and even birthdays.  I made one for my Father.  My parents 4oth Anniversary is coming up and we want to do something special for them.  So, here’s my head start:)  I hope you enjoy this tutorial!

11 comments on “{EVAN} How to make custom Cuff Links for the Gentlemen

  1. Lindsay
    October 17, 2012

    Where do you get the images for the cufflinks? Did you get them off the internet or are they from a store?

    • Ann
      October 17, 2012

      Greetings Lindsay! The images came from personal photos and links the groomsmen sent to me. Since these are gifts and I did not charge to make them, I did not infringe on any copyright laws. If you like vintage images, there is a wonderful site with free images you can use for personal purposes at: http://graphicsfairy.blogspot.com/
      Depending on what images you are looking for, there are many sites you can purchase images from as well. I hope this answers your questions.

  2. Lindsay
    October 18, 2012

    Thank you so much! I’m so excited to make these. Your video is the only one i could find show me how, it’s wonderful. Thank you.

  3. Anna
    October 23, 2012

    Hello! Awesome tutorial thank you so much! Where did you purchase the empty cuff links? Can’t wait to make a pair of these for a Christmas Present!

  4. Ruber
    December 12, 2012

    Hello. I would like to ask about using homemade mod podge for cufflink filling. I have never done anything with any of these supplies. And I only need all that for only one pair of cufflinks. Mod podge is quite expensive here and it is too much for one time using. So I have read about alternatives of it that are white glue mixed with water. So I wonder if you tried doing something like cufflinks with homemade mod podge and if it has the same result? Thank you in advance!

    • Ann
      December 12, 2012

      Greetings Ruber! I have not personally tried homemade mod podge. I may try and experiment with that:) As long as it dries clear and helps adhere the photo to the cuff link, I think you should be fine. The goal is to ensure the photo stays and it is visible. If you are interested, here is another technique I tried using resin filling: http://youtiquebridal.wordpress.com/2012/10/08/diy-custom-cuff-link/
      If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to ask.

  5. Amanda Chase
    January 8, 2013

    Thanks for posting this video! I am going to be attempting to make the cufflinks for the groomsmen and this helps out a lot. I always thought it’d be much more difficult than this.

    • Ann
      January 8, 2013

      Not too difficult…just takes a little time:) If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask. Have fun!

  6. Gloria
    January 8, 2014

    Cool! I want to try making some as well! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2012 by in Accessories, Custom, diy Accessories, Gentlemen, Video Tutorials and tagged .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers